Opinions from our experts

21 Sep 2021

Working 9-5?

In one of my recent lockdown thought pieces which Retirement Planner kindly gives space to each month, I alluded to the perils of failing to prepare for long-term care (LTC) provision. I mentioned the heartache that this is causing families up and down the land as the children of more and more parents face the prospect of finding the considerable amounts to pay for it.

14 Sep 2021

Building long-term care provision into centralised retirement propositions

In one of my recent lockdown thought pieces which Retirement Planner kindly gives space to each month, I alluded to the perils of failing to prepare for long-term care (LTC) provision. I mentioned the heartache that this is causing families up and down the land as the children of more and more parents face the prospect of finding the considerable amounts to pay for it.

26 Aug 2021

Do CDCs offer the best of both?

The DWP recently launched its consultation on draft collective defined contribution pensions scheme regulations, which is due to close on 31 August. Once these regulations are firmed up, by the end of this year in all probability, single or connected employers will be able to open collective defined contribution schemes for their employees.

25 Aug 2021

We are all revolutionaries now

We are all revolutionaries now. We are participants and actors in the fourth industrial revolution (4IR). This revolution is a global event, and its intensity is picking up as time goes on. The 4IR as a term was first coined by Klaus Schwab the founder of the World Economic Forum (WEF).

23 Aug 2021

Will Self: What is a SIPP and how can it benefit you?

Curtis Banks Group CEO Will Self explores the fundamentals of what a SIPP is and tackles the most commonly asked SIPP questions in the East Anglian Daily Times. Read the full article here.

02 Aug 2021

Paying it forward

Much has been written on intergenerational transfer of wealth. It is a key focus for financial advice and consequently a key opportunity for present and future value across the industry. The Resolution Foundation in 2017 wrote extensively on the intergenerational contract: the principle that different generations provide support to each other across the different stages of their lives.

26 Jul 2021

Clients facing crippling care costs? Here's a four-step safety net

We’re getting older and sicker. While the government twiddles its thumbs on the solution, there is plenty you can do to set clients up for a good care outcome.

16 Jul 2021

Turning the personal data tables'

Andrew Martin looks at the personal data economy, asks if consumers have enough protection and explores the implications for advice and wealth management.

15 Jul 2021

Enjoy yourself, it’s later than you think

Prince Buster was a Jamaican Ska singer-songwriter. If you like Madness or the Specials, you’ll know where their influences came from. In any event, as the summer staycation rain fell last weekend, I popped into my local independent record store and spent an hour or so flipping through the records. I came across a Prince Buster album with a great album cover and just had to buy it.

06 Jul 2021

Jessica List: Stronger nudges 'no substitute for advice'

The regulator’s plan to introduce a stronger nudge to pension guidance could lead to more people seeking advice, industry experts have claimed. Pensions commentators have dismissed concerns that a push towards guidance could undermine advisers, saying the advice process can provide much better support for clients.

01 Jul 2021

Why it’s time to focus on sustainability, compassion and awareness

You may recall back in the early spring the national media were crowing about the speed and effectiveness of the UK vaccination programme. Some were keen to compare it against the sluggish start by the EU. It was as if the UK vaccination roll-out here was somehow a vindication of Brexit.

18 Jun 2021

When it’s time to trade a SIPP in for a SSAS

Small self-administered schemes (SSAS) had been around for 17 years before its younger brother self-invested personal pensions (SIPP) got here in 1990, offering many of the investment freedoms SSAS members had been enjoying but without the need for a sponsoring employer.

10 Jun 2021

Deep thinking required on client vulnerability

It's nearly two years since the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) published its seminal‘Guidance Consultation 19-03' on the treatment of vulnerable customers and three months since the regulator concluded its final guidance entitled: ‘FG21/1 Guidance for firms on the fair treatment of vulnerable customers'...

10 Jun 2021

Integrating LTC into pension planning and provision

My mother is 92 and requires full-time care. Like many of her generation, as we pass the D-Day anniversary she vividly recalls her days as teenager in the war, in her case, in Malta. She could differentiate a German bomber from an Italian bomber no less, by the tone of its engines as they flew overhead to bomb the harbours around Valletta.

1 Jun 2021

Fully ‘vaxxed’ and making plans

This evening I had my second jab, the AZ flavour. I hope I’ll be okay tomorrow. Last time around, after the first jab I had a bout of shivers and sweats the following day. As of today, over 60 million vaccinations have been administered in the UK, with over 22.6 million people having received two jabs.

18 May 2021

Jessica List: Five top tips for land purchases

It’s well known that when it comes to commercial property investments, pensions can only purchase the bricks and mortar: anything moveable such as fixtures and fittings aren’t allowed. But what about cases where there isn’t even a building?

17 May 2021

Can machine learning give IFA clients an ESG investment selection edge?

It’s well known that when it comes to commercial property investments, pensions can only purchase the bricks and mortar: anything moveable such as fixtures and fittings aren’t allowed. But what about cases where there isn’t even a building?

13 May 2021

Come fly with me

The middle of May is fast approaching and there’s a great deal of expectancy associated with further easing of lockdown flowing through the country. I write this article in flight. Above the deep blue Mediterranean, tufts of distant clouds seem to anticipate my arrival in Malta – the land of my birth.

29 Apr 2021

To Zoom or not to Zoom, that is the question

28 Apr 2021

Five benefit statement pointers and one to avoid

20 Apr 2021

The spectre of negative interest rates

15 Apr 2021

What will pensions look like 99 years from now?

6 Apr 2021

Transforming retirement planning with big data and AI

25 Mar 2021

Jessica List: Pensions At Age 75 - The Big Event

25 Mar 2021

Lockdown lessons as offices open up

12 Mar 2021

Advisers must prepare for negative interest rates

11 Mar 2021

Business lessons from Aesop’s Fables

5 Mar 2021

Exploring the power of AI to provide more accurate ESG ratings

4 Mar 2021

Tech is real hero in pension charge disclosure story

25 Feb 2021

Applying the Stockdale Paradox to lockdown life

16 Feb 2021

Jessica List: Key SIPP Developments

11 Feb 2021

Chris Read: The Covid-19 Divine Comedy

28 Jan 2021

Chris Read: As one door closes another one opens

28 Jan 2021

Adrian Boulding: Helping Gen X clients boost 'bleak' pension prospects

20 Jan 2021

Will Self: 2021 Outlook for SIPPs

14 Jan 2021

Chris Read: The ‘Great Reset’ requires positive thinking

14 Jan 2021

Adrian Boulding: Go against the pack and consider an annuity

12 Jan 2021

Jessica List: What’s in store for 2021?

17 Dec 2020

Chris Read: Points mean prizes when it comes to health IDs

16 Dec 2020

Andrew Martin: Growing your business with 'chatbot wizardry''

9 Dec 2020

Adrian Boulding: First steps along the 'investment pathway'

8 Dec 2020

Adrian Boulding: Making the most of pension contributions

1 Dec 2020

Chris Read: Be prepared for inevitable business change

30 Nov 2020

Dunstan Thomas Gen X research cited in ILC UK Report

24 Nov 2020

Finding optimism by embracing the unknown

24 Nov 2020

Adrian Boulding: SSAS advantages in 10 key points

12 Nov 2020

Adrian Boulding: SSAS market ripe for service upgrade

5 Nov 2020

A Letter from Uganda

22 Oct 2020

Reaching out to Generation Zoom via snail mail

22 Oct 2020

What advisers need to know about the impact of BTL rule changes

15 Oct 2020

Have you had the ESG chat with clients?

12 Oct 2020

Don’t miss out on ESG opportunities

8 Oct 2020

Lockdown lessons from astronauts

2 Oct 2020

Wealth managers 'to accelerate digital transformation'

30 Sep 2020

Covid sell-off forces DFMs to address tech shortcomings

30 Sep 2020

Covid-19 'accelerates' wealth management digital transformation

29 Sep 2020

Covid-19 will accelerate shift to fixed fee models

29 Sep 2020

Post-pandemic workplaces must stimulate creativity as well as safe collaboration

15 Sep 2020

Bringing life back to the office

3 Sep 2020

London work trip concentrates the mind on workplace change

2 Sep 2020

Managing decumulation journeys through Covid-19 market uncertainties